A Cat, Asthma, and a 6 Mile Run

Friends, you are about to go “Kat! What the fuck did you just do!” In fact, you are going to have grey hairs over this one. Fair warning, this is a doozy.

 

Sylvani stopped breathing today at 3 pm. My response was first to massage his chest, which got him breathing again, grab the bag and go. Except I have no car, my carer is not allowed to take us to the vet and… its three and a half miles each way. On one of the busiest streets in my home town. There are no curb cuts, the few that exist aren’t legal. I tried one, with the added weight of Sylvani who is blatantly fat at the moment, we nearly flipped infront of a semi. So I went on the road. I lost a part to my chair, had two power outages, three random errors. I got lost too. I was about to call the vet when the vet called me, and helped me find my way. Hope, her real name because she is that awesome, is a receptionist. She made me feel better with Nymph, and she made sure Vani got the fastest treatment.

I spent an hour waiting, with periodic talks with the doctor. Vani was on Oxygen for a while, until he caught his breath. The vet was impressed with my sacrifice of my favorite Fedora to block the wind better than the closed off bit of the bag he was in. The thing is mostly mesh, so I had my coat on him. I was given a towel to keep incase of a future run.

They did a blood test to check for infection. No infection. He has Asthma. I knew this already but without the medication he was SOL unless we went. The problem is my vet is right behind a part of the road that triggers PTSD. Being near cars especially not outside them triggers PTSD.Loud sounds? PTSD. Utter terror my friends. I wept for the first ten minutes of my ride. I wanted to stop. I wanted to crawl into a hole.

Then, a thought struck me. Fear is like a very large box. Even empty it is awkward, gets in your way, and it is something you just don’t want to deal with. Would I lose Sylvani’s life because I was afraid? The tears stopped. I sang over and over “We’re going to die so you better live to make it worth it.” He was quiet. He only moved or coughed a bit when a semi, two diesel engines and some mean person who threatened to shoot me made noise. I just ignored it all, kept my chant.

During my waiting time while they treated Sylvani, who is going to be fine but I just need to get a rescue inhaler, a family wooed their puppy in. The dog was found walking down the same road I had raced down. They chose to keep her. Immediately this dog began to wonder around. The dog saw my chair and came, sitting at the right hand side, and looked at me expectantly. Now I did not pet strange dog due to my allergy but she moved around the chair with clear training. I told the family this.

We conversed, I distracted their son a bit when he was worried before they went in. His big fear was that they were going to steal his dog. They donated 200 dollars to my vet bill. Someone else recently gave the vet’s office an Aerokat, This is around 60 dollars. So though there was still a LOT to the vet bill, it wasn’t as horrible when I had to ask for help from M. Poor M, he has spent too much on my cats recently. They should both be fine now. If I had had the rescue inhaler for Sylvani he would not have had to go in.

He weights 15 pounds. Most of this in a month. This is a side effect of his asthma. So, once we get the medication sorted, we’ll be excercising him. At least ten minutes a day with the laser pointer.

He was just as quiet on the return trip, he is hiding. I am blogging.

 

I thought I would need to cry after. Nope. I am frazzled, windblown, sunburned, thirsty, and yet… I feel victorious. 3.5 miles both ways. It felt faster getting home which is always nice. I got lost only the once and that was reasonable since that is the PTSD Plaza (not the real name). Sylvani will be fine! I am fine! Sprite, despite being still sick will be fine! I am admittedly facing having to rehome them if the vet bills continue but the vet said Sylvani at the very least should need nothing further.

1 Comment

  1. OMG! I didn’t know you had had such an adventure! Harrowing to say the least! So glad you and Sylvani are ok. ((((((((hugggs)))))))))


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None