Scissors in the Hair (poem)

The crinkling sound of my hair against my ears

The familiar tickle as the air plays with fingers over it

Dancing on shoulders

I sit quiet and still

I wait for that first sound

The hiss through the air as the blade lowers down

The scraping of metal over metal

The click the moment each hair is severed

Weight falls away

Air moves to my throat

A gentle embrace

I shake my head free

My hair is shorter

The ends look clean

There they lay on the floor

Red strands saying goodbye to me

I feel free

I feel pretty.

 

(In otherwords, I had a hair cut today!)

2 Comments

  1. Oh wow Kat I love it.

    “The ends look clean
    There they lay on the floor
    Red strands saying goodbye to me”

    This was so intimate and beautiful. Made my day 🙂

  2. yay! I am in a very chipper mood right now, but I just felt strange cutting off some of my hair. It was just a trim, yet it is change so my brain tends to argue with me on it. I feel so much nicer without the mullet that I was developing though.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None