The Weight of Sadness

The weight of sadness on my soul lately has worn me through. I know a large part of it is my body trying to fail. I am on this precipice, it is raining, My hands ache and I cannot hold on and yet I am afraid of letting go. I am terrified to write, I am terrified to love, and yet I cannot stop. Writing is at the moment a sort of affliction. I wonder at times if my intellect is a curse, as there are no real outlets. Traditional education leaves me wanting greatly as I cannot do it. Reading the works of others is the same as writing, it is pouring boiling water on a blistered soul.

I am not certain why I start to cry when I think of writing. I have so many stories in my head, I have so many things that I should write and I have this dream that has haunted me for the longest time. I fear this dream. It was pleasant, but it was more a waking vision brought on by starvation that has left me quaking each and every time. I have mentioned it before but I do find it stalking me once more, the whispers, the pushing.

I know this is a pressure of my own making and I have all those excuses again. I am afraid to trust my computer, and I don’t trust the internet to save my literary work. I doubt myself too. There is a part of me that was hammered at so hard that my creativity has always been stunted. Delusions of Grandeur. This is the term that my mother and various psychologists applied to my idea that I could do anything more than be average. I am a genius so why can’t I do anything?

My usual methods of slowing the thoughts and words are failing, I think my body is the main reason. I am exhausted, and every symptom that I have is very much an indicator that something is wrong. My doctor is coming tomorrow of course, I was about to call her when she called me. It was one of those moments that makes me feel relief as if anything is worse than feeling this pressure in my skull from the words stacking themselves up, shouting louder and louder, wanting out but letting them out isn’t enough, I have to show them to people. I must let them see that I figured out the truths of the world but I dare not because those truths are the same ones that had me sent away to the mental hospitals where i was drugged and left unable to let the words out… and I can barely breathe but the phone is that bad.

My jaw. My hands. My legs. My feet. My fucking uterus. Take them all but leave my mind a way out. My eyes fail. My ears fail. I am in some sort of torment. I also am having a lot more need for stimulation. I cannot stop touching things, even when I know it will make the other broken shards of my humanity rear up and stab me. I cannot stop. I try. I spent the entire day in bed and read six novels, and not a one satiated that hunger in me.

I have remembered things, since my nap. THey are still shadows and I know the reality is I am depressed. I spent most of my life in torture. I escaped. Then married torture again. Is it any wonder that I am shaking in my soul? I am in love with someone and told them. That’s enough to leave me screaming on this cliffs edge. I start to wonder if it is really so high? I know too that my lover will catch me when I let go. He always does. Even when he doesn’t know I am about to squash him from great heights.

He knows I hate being rescued but constantly he picks me up when I fall, and asks nothing in return. It is constant. There are so many people now that are around me and I cannot give them enough. I am worried that my face doesn’t show what I feel. I am worried I am too quiet about it. I cannot speak as much lately, the words are too loud and I just want to dream. My dreams are words, music, pictures. All folded together and they can overwhelm reality. I didn’t write at all between the ages of 15-17 except for a few months when I had to for english and I found poetry bleeding out of me. I was encouraged but it was too late. I had stopped singing then too. No music. No creation. All so my mother would love me.

So these universal truths I know? Heaven is hell. That’s the secret in the bible. If angels can reside in heaven before they fall, and they can it is right there in the texts about Lucifer, then who is to say that all the angels aren’t the very demons people fear so much? This is hypothetical since I am not sure angels are even real except when I look at Sprite and she says she loves me so plainly that the deaf man across the street hears her and decrys me a witch.

The descriptions of demons are also the descriptions of angels. The layers of heaven in the scant descriptions are those of hell. I see it, and I cannot let it go. It is like the Joss Whedon is a plagiarist thing. It has sparked an explosion in me. All this comes from a work of fiction I never will share as I did not write it alone. Yet I cannot stop seeing it. It’s there. From my dreams of demons as far as I can remember which were escapes on to each story I have ever told, the duality is a singularity.

My world broke down again, and it hurts. I know the real wrench is my grief over so much loss. Each loss is culmulative. I never will stop grieving. This is my way. I don’t stop living, and I keep going but each day I spent a little time being sad. I have just been interrupted by a yowling cat, which overlaps my thoughts. Scared me. It sounds like William Shakespurr. It is not Sprite. I had to open the door and find out what it was. It was sorrow. Literal and figuratively. Sprite’s little hutch that was for her and Ny, that was too nice to give away withstood the rain alright and attracted cats from all over. I felt a spike of terror as I saw them, and I pray we cleaned it well enough. I feel guilt now too.

Yes I spend every day with at least an hour of grief. I grieve over everything I dreamed over, everything I lost, I grieve over each animal my mother let my grandmother or her husbands murder. I grieve over grandparents she swears I shouldn’t recall but I do. I recall kindness and love. I grieve for my sensei. I grieve for Snowball the cat that was drowned, I grieve for my rage at my brother and my grief goes so far as to grieve not realizing that as a toddler alone with a swimming pool he could have drowned. I grieve for my mother, I wonder who she would be if her mother had died not her father, I grieve for the multiverse of what ifs really. Yet most of all I grieve for Rose, whose children turned traitor the moment she died out of greed. I grieve for Nymph too. That fresh wound bleeds regularly and more than my allotted “time to be sad”. I grieve for the fact that I allot time to be sad.

I am letting go, and I find I don’t need to be caught this time. I knew I wouldn’t be really but I was afraid of being wrong. Sometimes the fear builds up in me and the ideas I have scrape the bedrock of what I live by, and that is painful as that bedrock is not stone but nerves and brain matter. I know my body needs tending, and so I shall tend it. I am pushing for a few things, getting my jaw fixed so that talking doesn’t end with me crying at night because it hurts. I can’t stop talking any further than I have, and I won’t give up voice acting. Then, there’s the dynamite in my uterus. I am not sure how it got there, but my ovaries have matches and keep setting it off. I think I am really bleeding, and I really do think that I need to just cut it out. It being my uterus and really I won’t use dull scissors I swear.

I am afraid of dying. Each year on my birthday there’s that “Well this is the last one” and though I buck against it a part of me fears death. This is a rare thing and will pass, it’s an annual tradition.

The dream that goads me scared me even then. It was a weight set upon me and I wonder if it is secretly desire or if it was one of those dreams that was really not a dream. I have them often enough, where things turn into reality but I did dream them. They bother me most. Usually those are scarier than nightmares. At least nightmares are fictitious.

I went to the land of death, and entered an english tea garden. I was not dressed for the ocassion and yet I found I was greeted by several women. Jane Austen, the Bronte Sisters (Emily and Charlotte) and Virginia Woolf sat at a table, and there was a spot for myself. I walked over the soft grass and seated myself. It was a bit odd for me as at this point I wasn’t familiar with their personalities but I did research after the dream. Either I extrapolated from their books or I guessed correctly. These literary greats, whose shadows I could only hope to fall into someday greeted me, there was pleasing conversation about small things for a moment while I situated myself with the best tea I have ever tasted, Picasso’s Suaree. Not sure how that last word is really spelt I have only heard it. It’s a tea like caramel, you add brown sugar and a hint of cream and it is like drinking the stars.

Virginia Woolf looked at me and said, “We have a problem with you.” I wondered immediately what I had done wrong, because really, they were dead before my time. Emily nodded, and she smiled, “You aren’t writing dear, why ever not?” I said nothing. I felt ashamed. This angered me of course because how can I feel ashamed for not writing when… my list of excuses falls short even for me so I just listened as each of them explained to me that I am far from alone in my torment of having to create, and having that creativity be something forbidden. To write as a woman now is almost passe, yes we still fight for publication and there is still this ridiculous idea that children prefer books written by men as do adults yet, facts don’t hold up for a bias for either gender but a quality of work. They each explained that they would get fevers if they didn’t write. I do, I can register it with a thermometer. I get so caught up in thinking I fall ill.

So they assured me it was my duty to write. Not a destiny. Not a choice. I am beholden to my mind to use it, and as I am a modern outsider for acceptability with literature I should. I can be satirical such as Austen, or I can be something else. I should merely put the pen to paper every day. In my dream they each handed me a writing instrument, and we enjoyed conversing. I asked about being dead and it was something that made them laugh. “Who says we’re dead?”

The afternoon shifted to evening and I was sent on my way with a reminder from Austen, though she did look at the others first before saying it. “Your words hold the lives of people in them. You can change the world with a single sentence.”

I started this blog after that, I did start a book. My exhusband destroyed that. So my great burden really boils down to one thing. Fear. I am afraid to lose more work. It is as painful as losing my friends or realizing that my mother is everything she taught me to fear and hate. It is as bad as remembering more death and destruction. I cannot stop thinking on this dream vision. I want it to be true, and in ways it has proven to be so. I write and mention periodically that people read my work and email me via my little form and they say they were going to die before they met my words. This has become a daily and often more than once daily trend. Then there are the people who have changed my world. Each person is a world in my mind after all. A universe to explore. so the words were true. What else can I do?

I am afraid. I cannot stop thinking, and I don’t think trying is the right method that leads to nosebleeds and cutting myself. I don’t do self harm. I also haven’t been this healthy in a long time despite the failings of my body. Those failings are regularly schedulable to a degree. I am afraid of succeeding. I am afraid of moving away from the horrors I know into the hope of tomorrow. I am afraid of this damned new cat idea. What if it dies? What if I just killed kittens by having that stupid cat furniture outside? What if Sprite dies? I think that would end my world really. I don’t know that I could handle that and I am so afraid of her dying. I don’t want to be afraid of that but I can’t stop it. I cannot imagine my life without her warmth or the way she says little barberous things about people that I wish I could say, and they understand her and get that “I have to poop” look. I am afraid of losing her. I know cats don’t live forever but I am terrified.

This is the weight of my sadness. I don’t know why I cannot stop carrying it around with me, except that my mother shut down all avenues of help via abuse chemically and sadness or rage are all I have known. I have wounds that bleed words, and words that bleed words. I am a font of thought and ideas and it is peculiar to this world. I cannot type fast enough either. Nor do I have the energy to stay up writing as much as my brain wants.

Is this PTSD? Is this brilliance? Is this a delusion of grandeur? I have the papers that say I am a genius, and I also prefer that term to weird, insane, crazy, but I think it covers them all. Genius is smart without normality right? Sure I have the IQ numbers but that has meant little to me. If you add the numbers together you get different things it’s like a puzzle. No I admit to genius because my conception of genius is someone who doesn’t stop thinking sometimes paralytically so.

2 Comments

  1. And inside the endless spiral amplifying the white noise of empty fear, the voice of grief screams out an angry howling atonal chromatic whisper, while its footsteps paint colours of looping, reverberating, anguish – eloquent wordless dancing to a polyrhythmic heartbeat.

    Again, you have put into prose and logical thought what my mind has been hammering against the cage in confoundedness.

    I have no answers or paltry words of comfort, but thank you, Kat.

  2. Kat,

    I have no answers — as always — but thank you so much for these words. I don’t have anything else to offer but support and comfort.

    And if this makes any sense, your definition of genius proves why you are one. At least it did to me.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None