A Pale Cat and Frustration

Tomorrow I am going to write a letter, that I will deliver in person to my Medicaid coordinator’s boss. He gets a copy too. He has had weeks to respond to my calls. I have left voicemails. He called once, but hasn’t acknowledged since Adult Protective Services told him what was going on. He knows the situation. I am running out of time, to find a place to live.

Too, I am worried for William. I woke up a week ago and he was pale. I’ve never seen a cat that was pale before, but his carrying of the Albinism gene allowed me to see it. His nose was whiter than his fur, which is extremely white. He was sick. His body was cold, and even the pads of his paws had turned white. He let me hold him for a time but I put my hand on his stomach, and it hurt him.

I called the vet but with no money I was denied care for him, and I was left with hoping that he would recover. No suspsense is needed in this blog, he recovered. He ate an entire q-tip and managed to safely pass it. Every day since then I have woken, and immediately checked to see if my cat is pale.

Sprite has been more and more clinging, she cares for me too much at times, and yet there is never enough of it for her. Today she was so funny, that when I lifted her she put her paws out and struck the Superman flying pose. I will have to get a picture of this someday, because it was the most wonderful moment. It brought a laugh back into this apartment.

With all of the tragedy that I have been dealing with there is still hope. Most of what I own is boxed up, only two of my valuable items were lost forever, and although one is the stuffed rabbit that was a family heirloom, I am still glad to just be alive. That’s all I have to cling to right now, my Eviction is emminent, but I am alive.

I have learned that there are still gaping flaws with the foodstamps cards in my area. I cannot change my pin before they mail it, but with all the mail disappearing, I do not want it sent to me. I am not sure how I am to eat, because with my food allergies I cannot just get a food box. That’d be wasteful. I will not waste what could help others when the entire country is facing eviction as well.

This blog post has no happy ending yet but I am working on it. I know my foodstamps will accrue, so that I can stock my kitchen once I find one. I know too once I have a place to land I can resume trying to get the other needs I have met. I haven’t really been lonely. K has helped with that, she’s a vibrant woman and her presence has helped me to fight off the depression that I have been struggling with.

Soon, I will even update my photograph. I am cutting my hair as it is getting caught in my wheelchair and I keep sitting on it, which is painful and dangerous. I am also dying it black. I don’t know if I will look good or not with black hair but, I am looking forward to the change. Yes my red hair is naturally beautiful but, right now I am also not wanting to stand out. I will anyway, I can’t help it. It’s just who I am.

I know one other thing. When I move, I will resume writing my novel. I felt it today, the spark in my mind of creation. It’s still there. Just as the music has returned. Now all I need is to be able to go outside without feeling as if my life is in danger.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None