Showtunes

William Shakespurr is full of surprises. Until last night I haven’t had a good night’s sleep without locking him out of the bedroom and curling up with Sprite and Sprite alone. He stayed last night due to a discovery made in the morning.

I had my Person hand me my antique music box. It is shaped like a grand piano, though the lid is missing now. I wound it up, pulled the wire and a tinkling tune began to play. The Impossible Dream from Don Quixote. You will find that is a theme I listen to often, and have for most of my life.

William came running in to the room and had to investigate the sound. He was quiet, as he usually is but sniffed it. The music stopped and he looked disappointed. His ears drooped and he lowered himself to try and figure it out. I wound up the box again and set it in the same spot.

This time he put one ear against the glass where the music is created. He switched ears as the box wound down again. On the third wind he decided to lay on it, seeing if that would keep it going or claiming it. The music stopped, as the little wire that used to go up and down with the piano lid was pressed in by his body. He got up, and it started again. He did not lay on it a second time but instead put his nose to the glass staring inside. I had to give it another wind and this time he seemed frustrated.

He flipped the box on it’s side, using one paw to keep it from falling over fully and then tried to lift the box with his mouth. It was too heavy for him, so he tried to drag it. He wanted to take it away. At this time I was curious as to why other music didn’t effect him this way. The not so savage beast was tamed by … Showtunes?

Turning to the computer I pulled up a recording of the Impossible dream. He laid down and let me hide the music box in my purse, as I needed it for the day. He was just as happy. It was a sign! I currently am paying way too much for TV and therefore have access to an entire TV station for showtunes. I put that on the TV after the song on the computer was through and to the tune Hello Dolly discovered he was relaxing, calm, and content.

I left to go and watch a speech, and when I came in both he and Sprite were curled up watching the TV, though there were no moving pictures. They were hooked on the showtunes. William has changed his behavior. He was quiet enough I let him sleep with me, though normally this means I do not sleep.

He was warm, soft, and he was well behaved. Even as the night wore on I slept hard and without any interruptions. When I woke he continued to sleep too. When running out of the room suddenly, he did it for the first time without running first into the walls. Showtunes? He apparently needed to have some calming music. He seems like a different cat. Did the Broadway gods come and steal the William I know and am often annoyed at replacing him with this alien copy? That would make him a copy cat.

All I know is this, I love Showtunes and they have him behaving so well our house is now going to be filled with the standards of the stage!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None