Denial of Disability

This post is actually a response to a very personal email, which I will not post here as I cannot contact the writer to ask permission. The information I wanted to reply with has universal assistance behind it as well as some that is a bit more personal. Therefore, this belongs in the How To Section.

As far as the writer goes, you sent the email via my contact page at the tale end of April First, 2009. I hope you contact me again, but your email is bouncing.

Here is my reply, modified to cut out personal details that I have no business sharing:

I was on disability as a minor, and was immediately denied as an adult. I am back on SSI right now, though I am trying to get a steady income so that I can live beyond my current means. I am a technophile and not being able to buy a new computer every month actually bothers me more than it should. I also face the fear of not having the insurance, as without it how will I afford medical care and medication?

So, with my own experiences in mind, including the reapplication for government assistance, I have some questions for you, and hopefully these lead to a positive change in your circumstance. First, how many times have you applied? Have you filed a formal appeal? If you do not know how, I can try and help you though you might need to hire a lawyer.

If you have appealed before, try applying with more details. Certified or notarized letters from multiple doctors with firm medical fact and the stated opinion that the damage to your body prevents you from safely working at any job will help. Most doctors are willing to do this.

The other concern I have is about your lack of Durable Medical Equipment. There are usually local organizations that will help you obtain medical equipment. There are even exchange programs where people donate their older equipment to help those who have a need and no insurance. As you are an adult, if you are not considered a dependent or won’t be with your own income you can also often qualify for a loan that has either zero interest or low interest and very small payments for medically necessary devices. Some providers (In this case those who sell the medical durable items) will also offer a loaner program for those who qualify.

If I can help you further please let me know. This is what I do when I am not blogging, and as long as you are comfortable with my assistance I will offer it.

This offer goes for any of you. If you need help with ideas on how to adapt, finding resources, or even need someone to write a letter explaining disability I will do it. If it is in my power, I will help you. I cut out a lot of my above response, yet I believe the pertinent details remain. I do not want any of my readers who contact me to feel uncomfortable. The point of this entire post is to reach out to someone who has a need. Even if you are not the person who contacted me and this helps you, then it is good. If you have ideas for posts to help others and want to, you can also contact me and we can discuss sharing my space.

I am going to mimic Renee from WomanistMusings’ open blog system, with one caveat. I will uphold my curseword free blog, and have the right to deny an article, if it is full of hate speech or is going to do more harm than good.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None