Selling the Magic Cure for Pain!

Right now, there are dozens of ads airing on a handful of stations in your area, perhaps every single one, schilling pain drugs. I tend to change the channel when these magic pills are advertised. Nothing cures pain, it just blocks the signals to the brain. “My Fibromyalgia pain has hampered my life, until I found this pill and became an above average American with no pain who can do it all, this pill turns you into Super cripple and has a musical name to boot! Try Elyricembril today.”

The expectation that these commercials set is unrealistic. I used to hold out hope that a pain pill would come along and take the ache out of my joints, or a pill would make it where my joints would stop dislocating. Tonight, I moved my pillow two inches and dislocated my right shoulder. Right then, a Lyrica commercial came on. I couldn’t change the channel, and saw a bunch of white privilege added in to boot. Not only is this woman schilling a drug, but, her family is all happy, has everything they need despite her invisible illness. There is no suffering all because of their magic little pill. This woman is blonde, thin, and has no needs beyond their pill.

The reality is so different. All these commercials do is add to the sense of defeat that a person with a disability faces. Those who are the hardest hit have no diagnosis, their bodies just fail. They do not get the luxury of knowing why. My list of medical labels is a luxury, I do take it for granted, but it is worse for those with no labels, no treatment, and often no job or home.

A part of me yearns for socialized medicine, with our government understanding the need for medical care for everyone. This would mean my caregiver would not have to ignore those aches and pains he feels daily, that to me indicate that there is likely a problem. As the depression that we are in, it is not a recession that is merely denial by wealthy men who fear the truth, gets worse so increases the amount of untreated medical ailments. Some include the diagnosed but many are ignoring small injuries tearing themselves apart and whispering in their minds, “When this recession ends, I’ll get a magic pill.”

There is no magic pill. There is nothing that takes away the pain. There is nothing that can cure you if you get sick enough. Sometimes you are just born sick. You do deserve medical care, but, turn off the commercials. The medicine that works best for many is not new, but is older medication ignored until nothing sold on TV, written on a pen, or advertised to doctors who are often paid to give out these pills works. There is no magic pill. There is no Truth in Advertising.

I might sound bitter, as I lay here writing. I feel pain in my body with every breath. I know there is no cure. There is no end for my pain. It has gotten worse through my life, each day it gets worse. I have tried everything, and usually once this is revealed my doctors give up. I have not given up. I am far from bitter. I am merely growling at a threat. The threat that kills hope, the threat that removes treatment, and the threat that further disables the mind. There is no magic pill.

If you are reading this, feeling alone, and need support. There is that. Not only are there support groups everywhere, but, you can contact me via my blog either in the form of a comment or using the contact form and I will talk with you. Friendship is free, and is often the best thing for those in pain. You aren’t alone. There may be no magic pill, but, that does not mean there is no hope. If you are reading this and have been feeling the ache of frustration, anger, or sorrow knowing someone else may see these advertisements and feel false hope then the crash that comes after, reach out. After all, if we save ourselves, support ourselves, or merely even convince a doctor to try something old, we win. There are many ways to lose, and the magic pill is one of them.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None