Wordabration 2009

I am a word junkie. I cannot escape them, and they are what I see the world in. I do not see you as colored flesh blobs, I see you as descriptions in text of colored flesh blobs. We cannot have lyrical music without words, speeches, television, even silent films needed words to describe their content. Blogs especially are made of words.

Tomorrow I am giving a speech called Wordabration, it is a speech to introduce me to the Toastmasters’ group. Well, I am going to put words into a context of my existence. I cannot give you a pre-written speech to read, so, when the video is up, I will post it in the blog. In the mean time I wanted to share this video, it uses words to show the entire glut of change we face. Skynet is coming, Bluetooth is the key.

If you know what the music is, I’d love to. It stuck in my head and has me all tingly, with words. Why are words so important? As a culture our language is what gives us expression, and although not all of the words in a language are positive, they still are the keys to  understanding an entire culture. Without the Rosetta stone our understanding of the ancient world would be not even a tenth of what it is today.

The language of a legal document, or the language used when you are mirandized if you are arrested matters. Language is the single most important part of a culture. Language is used to discriminate too, if you do not have a mastery of the language then people presume you are stupid.

I love words. I truly do. Wordabrate with me. What is your favorite word? Mine is Onomatopoeia, a word describing sound. Sounds and words are the same, that is merely proof.

I woke up today ready to resume writing my novel, and, so full of word steam I felt as if I had exploded. I broached new territory for me,describing adult situations in my book. I decided to write the first draft without being certain who my audience was, and today I woke up knowing my audience. The power of my words grows exponentially. I can hardly wait to edit this puppy!

By the time I go agent shopping, I doubt my book will even resemble the mess it is now. I am showing not telling, there are gaping plot holes, inconsistencies in names but that is what a first draft is for. All of the variations of my characters have to melt down into a single and final variation. My Pirate dragon warrior princess has to become a person, instead of a pile of words, while being in literary form. Only words can manage that.

I do not cry over movies often, but, even comic books can make me weep. Words are the most powerful weapons in the world. They start wars, they stop wars. They make people rich and poor. They give the perception of rights, and they can even train those who hear them to believe certain things. Words are used to label people, sometimes to their betterment and most often to their detriment.

Words uplift, they demean, but most of all they are just words. Wordabration means, celebrating words. You can participate in March, my month of Wordabration, by reading the dictionary, read just one page a week, learn a new word, or even just acknowledging what words have given you. They bring you this blog, your news, even if you get it online or from Jon Stewart, words do that for you.

So, here is a celebratory blah blah blah. Let’s go Wordabrate!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None