Womanist Musings

I have been posting on Renee’s Blog Womanist Musings for a few days. I started to reply yet again to yet another hateful comment, and instead felt I should post my comment here. It is very long, and, this opinion deserves to be spread around. This is a link to the post that sparked this comment.

I would love for the ism flinging to stop. It hurts me in my heart. I am sensitive, and often that is overlooked when I advocate. Each person has emotions connected with the hot topics that we fight for. They are hot because our passions burn inside of us.

I too would love for everyone to stand up/roll up together to fight for causes that are not related to our own passions. I believe this would indeed give great strength to the movements. That is also a Utopian ideal that would prove the isms were truly dead. It is not happening with in my life time, though I will dream for it.

I also wish for people to acknowledge the overlap of isms. This is why people get upset with blanket appropriations. Someone posted in these threads that everyone has the same response to being oppressed. This is a lie. Some people shut down, others become angry, still more become violent. There are infinite reactions, feelings, and responses to the isms in the world.

I am disabled. I face ablism whenever I go outside. I face it when I pay my rent. I am a woman. I face sexism just as often. Sexism hurts less emotionally but not in the reality of society. I would not however compare a wheelchair user’s challenges with those of a white woman who has working legs.

I am a Bisexual. I face sexual discrimination when I go on dates with women. I have at this time found a man who fits my ideals, but, I never expected to do so. I spent most of my adult life self identifying as a Lesbian. Some GBLT might see my falling for a man as a violation of the cause, some might see a person like me who has one male attachment and a thousand female as an underminer to the cause. My own happiness doesn’t matter in that aspect.

I face other isms, each of us likely does. Race is an ism I face from the side of a white woman. I am often scoffed at and told to stop being nice to people, because the (racist word for a POC here) do not deserve it. I get this response from the Hispanic persons in my area not just the white.

When we attack people for having different perspectives we weaken our causes. When we try and deny that a POC can be GBLT, disabled, or have any issues beyond race, I get angry and I am not a POC. When we, the we in these statements being GBLT activists, ignore any subculture within our cultures we negate all of the work done to try and raise awareness with in our group. We are not mindless borg, we are each individual humans with different goals and expectations from the movement.

This is why I find it distasteful to use blanket appropriations. I cried earlier when reading this post, because we would never accept appropriation as white people. We appropriate and it looks like we want “Pain Cred”. This goes further, poisoning the movement by devaluing the actual experience that every member has had.

Why not post a picture of one of the gays who was curb stomped in the bigger cities? Why not post a picture of the newly forced divorcees? There are a thousand non stolen pain filled images. IF you want a shocking image, try and find an image of a mixed race couple, with one disabled, both women or men, and try and show them as they truly are. Show their challenges, and show their potential for happiness.

Too often the GBLT loses sight of the fact that there is more than MY own desire for activism. At times instead of sorrow, happiness is more effective in the quest for equality. Happiness is a universal emotion, and is often the main reason activists continue on.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None