Hot Dogs

In Washington domestic abuse victims now can protect their pets. A part of me felt utter elation for a split second before the futility of this struck me. If my cats are home alone, and my abusers magically find me, a piece of paper is not going to protect them. Yes, violence against animals is a huge problem, especially when small children are victimized by the terror that Daddy or Mommy is going to hurt Bowzer because they were bad.

I have been there. I spent years trying to eradicate my ability to love any small animals out of fear. This sudden dejected response brings me up to a point of realization, we need better protection for our humans and animals. If I had felt that I could have safety, options, or that my existence as a woman without children would have not meant another tour of danger where my life was forfeit able to convenience by the shelter system locally, I would not have spent four years with hidden abuse.

I do not like to talk about these topics, but I feel I must. How can I deny the truth and expect other people to see the way out? I was shown, or I would be far worse off than I am now. From some aspects that notion is laughable, after all how can my health get much worse? I can answer that question. I also look at my mind. My mind is strong, free from suicidal ideation for the most part, and it is able to reject the idea that a bullet is the best pain killer.

That does not mean that I should have to feel fear. It is an awesome thing, the hallelujah godliness sort of awesome, that our animals are finally being acknowledged as impotant. Often, if food was not enough to make me obedient, all I had to do was think of my cat and her own special needs and I would do what was asked of me, even if it was torturous to my body. Give up the money I need for clothing and food? I’ve done it. As of right now I am fighting back from a waredrobe of two shirts and four pairs of pants.

Does not having clothing seem silly to compare with being hit or your animals being burned alive? In some aspects it does, yet, being forced to wear clothing that is not appropriate for the season can be dangerous. You risk exposure, overheating, freezing, sunburn. Not having enough clothing to merit doing laundry or to make it worth the time to change out of the outfit you have on for a week is also depressing. Many women are controlled in their relationships by their lack of finance for fashion, it becomes a third rate priority and eventually that can impact their jobs, their social lives. This impacts their ability to be taken seriously and to feed their children. If they are not taken seriously during a crisis, either medical or one where they make their break for freedom, this can leave us with another statistic, instead of a survivor of abuse.

Should it? Not at all. So, as we celebrate this new law in WA, lets look at other ways we can try and help people to rise above. I look forward to the day when a Utopia exists. Man, Woman, White, Black, Asian, American, Mexican, none of these words will matter. Violence will be a memory, not forgotten but taught about with utter honesty so that history does not continue to repeat.

I have a dream, a dream for every woman who has ever felt fear, for ever child who has waited to see if Daddy was going to get mad because they sneezed. I dream that these women and children find freedom and grow into well rounded adults who are secure, able to advocate to protect the weak and the innocent. I dream of a day when domestic violence is a faint memory, a shameful one, and is no longer an option.

4 Comments

  1. […] Textual Fury created an interesting post today on Hot bDogs/b « Textual FuryHere’s a short outlineRecent Posts. Isms, Hisms and Hersms · Hot bDogs/b · Ana Phalaxis- Super Villain! Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? (Trigger Warning) · Hidden Abuses in our Culture… Tags. ADA Advice advocate advocating agony Americans with Disabiltiies Act b…/b […]

  2. […] Blog for pet lovers created an interesting post today on Hot Dogs Here’s a short outlineIn Washington domestic abuse victims now can protect their Bpets/B. A part of me felt utter elation for… […]

  3. […] Textual Fury 26 Feb 2009 | 01:20 am | Category: Uncategorized       Dogs Trust wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptMy mind is strong, free from suicidal […]

  4. […] Textual Fury placed an interesting blog post on Hot bDogs/b « Textual FuryHere’s a brief overviewRecent Posts. Isms, Hisms and Hersms · Hot bDogs/b · Ana Phalaxis- Super Villain! Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? (Trigger Warning) · Hidden Abuses in our Culture… Tags. ADA Advice advocate advocating agony Americans with Disabiltiies Act b…/b […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None