Hidden Abuses in our Culture…

I am far from the only person who has blogged about misogyny. I hope to not be the last. Recently I have become aware of a subtle malignant cancer in our world. I turn on my TV and see a woman in a cast giving various excuses often used by abused women to justify her injury, which came from cleaning too much. I got angry fast. Growing up in an abusive household I could see myself there, I could see my mother there. “I fell down.” Really? You fell down… Then at the end another woman comes up and is wearing an identical cast and points out she was just cleaning.

Oh, let us mock the plight of women trapped in abusive situations fearing for their lives daily. Ha. HA. HA. Very funny. /sarcasm

I am aghast at the horrors that can be made to denigrate women. At Shakesville there is an entire series about disembodied body parts. This is a huge eye opener. I am not just a pair of legs, breasts, or a disembodied mouth opened for the pleasure of man. Really, as a disabled woman I am not sure some of my parts would work in the ways that these “artists” claim they would. Is it art to make a pillow out of a woman’s vulva? Some might say yes, but I disagree.

I would not classify myself as a feminist in many ways, but, as a woman who advocates for her own needs and the needs of others, and takes a special interest in the rights of women and hidden privileged in this society, I am a feminist. I am not sure how else to say it. I do shave my legs, I do like pleasure, and I do not hate all men. I used to, as a psychological reaction to my abuse, but, now I can appreciate their value equally with the values of women.

I am aware that just talking about what goes on in the world here won’t necessarily make a difference, however, it is a start. I can start a discussion. I can perhaps get someone to think. I can perhaps open someone’s eyes so that they can see themselves in a new light.

Not the kind of light a new study talks about. This study is trying to excuse the objectification by men of women. The problem with their result is that these are grown men, and they are already trained by their parents to objectify women. I am not an object. Treat me as one and I do kick back.

For more reading on this subject, you can try these links.

The Disembodied Parts Series at Shakesville

The New Study in more detail at Feministing

Eventually I will try to get a vide of the atrocious commercial.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None