How Kateryna Got her Speech Back!

No, I did not lose my voice and I am not Mute.  I have been ruminating over my past of late. Most of it has been painful, but in looking towards my future goals, I found a golden coated diamond nugget in the mush of hatred and disgust. Before I changed my name, before I was all grown up, back when I was a know it all teenager, I was a member of Toastmasters International. Just before I turned 17 my mother and I joined. I remember the years of struggles, speeches, and I realize that is where I learned to be confident.

I am looking for a new group with in Toastmasters, a return if you will to the best part of my childhood, when I began to take shape as an adult. I can think of all of the times I used the skills offered, all of the chances at Confidence that I wouldn’t have know how to handle. I can give an impromptu speech like nobodies business, all because of Toastmasters. Sometimes I try and pigeon myself into my room for life out of fear, but, Toastmasters will take away my excuse for not doing anything.

The excuse that has been winning? I don’t know how to give a speech from a wheelchair. I did recently, but, when I consciously think about the mechanics such as body language I feel panic. That will not due if I am trying to sell my knowledge. Be it my book, be it my experience advocating for my rights, or even trying to advocate for myself, excuses about not knowing how to talk from a sitting position are useless. Toastmasters can give me what I need, and maybe I can give them something only I have to offer.

On top of that, I once set a goal that I would become the best International Speaker with in Toastmasters. How can I do that if I am not actively competing? Silly me, forgetting those all important goals.

so if you are in TI, see you soon. I’ll be speaking confidently again in no time!

By the way, I had achieved my CTM and was one speech shy of my ATM Bronze for those curious toastmasters. I see the program has changed, but it looks like a stronger system

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

    • None