Walmart

I had a strangeness at Walmart today. It was a myriad of experiences with a temporary worker, who challenges my brain function in a negative way. Otherwise she is a good carer. She asks questions we just are not quite compatible as my brain cannot function around her constant babble. First I learned that you can in fact make them go get more gluten free things, and while I waited for someone to do that I noticed the symbol of a purple heart on a hat. I turned to do my habitual thanking and spoke with the man for a moment. He was surprised and then smiled at me and said he had not expected thanks and it has been seventy years just about since he enlisted, to fight Hitler. He was proud of his service and he is in fact proud of what the people of this country have become, over all. Not our politicians but I have yet to meet even a politician who likes politicians. It was a surreal moment as I realized that he fought in a war so long ago that I only know one person who was alive then. His happiness with my gratidude and the smile were well worth my nervousness in pointing out I saw it. The purple-heart meaning he was injured meant it was more important that I thank him.

In my shopping I always cross paths with strange characters or people who just jump out at me visually. A woman in a beautiful sparkling sweater with a Hajib looked over the meats at the same moment. I complimented her sweater, her daughter translated and I thanked her daughter for that. They were surprised by this. I thought that this post would only entail at that moment my little moment of wonder at our aging warriors, as my brain tumbled over my wanting to share that I met a real hero. I was almost finished with my shopping, hunting down an elusive cheese (which I never did find) when the woman and her daughter returned and flagged me and my tempcarer down. They were in a panic because her ride home had vanished, they had only EBT and they were stranded. They needed help and this is where the Government housed them, as refugees from the Iraq war.

I had no expectation of this adventure and my tempcarer was surprised when I stopped to help them. They asked for a ride home which was impossible and a terrifying concept to me not because I am such a quarrelsome creature or my allergies but because this is something they have done before. So we made calls. We tried every option before calling of all places the Mormons that had given them their book. I even had to call the police. I felt terrible doing this. Then the girl mentioned her mother has qualified for a carer. I wrote down resources, and then we had to finish our shopping.

I felt guilt I could not help them and their relief that I helped was amazing. The gratitude. I talked to them both a while and they wanted to hug me, which I could not do for them but in the end they got a ride. Still it made me wonder how they got here, how they will adapt. What resources do people have. I literally just got home and am writing this and I do not know, but I wonder. I find it a horrifying thing they have no transport and I cannot imagine the fear they feel. What it must take to leave your entire culture behind. I found them brave, and yet desperate. It is their desperation that leaves me hoping I meet them again.

Walmart is always an adventure for me, I get overloaded between false alarm fire alarms, the people and shopping and yet this was more an adventure than the norm. I did get a bit of an allergic reaction but it was worth stopping my day to help people. My tempcarer is rushing right now to put all the things I got away. No toys even, I just stocked up on food. I feel a strange sorrow that I cannot do more, that I cannot know them more intimately but it is not an option at this time. So I will wonder and I can hope that we meet again. I gave them resources they did not know, and I see a young girl with many burdens and I wonder who she will become.

Normally I expect to bring home food, not questions about the shape of the universe and the scheme of things. Quite the load of shopping today!

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for sharing two beautiful and touching moments from your day with us. That was wonderful.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Polls

  • Ye Olde Archives of Fury

  • Top Rated

  • Top Clicks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers